Junta Electoral Central - Portal

Electoral Administration

Logotipo de la Junta Electoral Central

Electoral Administration

The Representation of the People Institutional Act (henceforward its Spanish abbreviation LOREG) has set up an independent complex and hierarchically-framed administrative machinery, aimed at ensuring transparency and objectivity in electoral procedures and observance of the principle of equality.

The Electoral Administration consists of:

  • Central Electoral Commission
  • Self-governing Communities Electoral Commissions (where such ones have been set up)
  • Provincial Electoral Commissions
  • District Electoral Commissions and the Polling Bureaus

Members of Electoral Commissions have fixity of tenure. They may be suspended only for electoral criminal offence or misdemeanor, after an investigating procedure by the next high-ranking Electoral Commission, and by a majority decision of the relevant Electoral Commission, without prejudice of any possible judicial proceedings. The Central Electoral Commission is empowered in the same terms to spend any of its members.